What to do when faced with DUI charges in Maryland
Category : Law
Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs is one of the most frequent causes of injuries and fatalities on the streets and roads of the US. In recent years, there have been great efforts to increase the peoples’ awareness of this problem. Along with these efforts, there have been attempts to increase the severity of punishment measures for those caught driving under the influence. The severity of these measures varies from state to state, but in general, they are quite harsh these days, and for a good reason. If you get yourself caught and subsequently charged with driving under the influence, probably the best thing you can do is find a capable attorney who will do his/her best in order to alleviate the consequences of the sentence. If you find yourself charged in the state of Maryland, look for the services of a suitable Maryland DUI attorney, so as to avoid any serious repercussions regarding your charge.
If you find yourself in this situation, you should at least try to familiarize yourself with the rights you have when facing DUI charges. There have been new Maryland drunk driving laws introduced recently that are in full effect now, which means that you have higher chances if you hire the services of a Maryland based attorney, who probably knows all the ins and outs of Maryland laws and who will know how to use those laws so as to help with your case.
If this is your first DWI arrest, then you should know a couple of things. The new Maryland drunk driving laws, introduced in October, 2009, state that if this is the first time you a have been convicted of drunk driving and your alcohol level (blood alcohol content – BAC) is over .08, you could face a sentence of up to a year in prison and a fine of no more than 1000 dollars. If you had a minor in your vehicle at the time of the offense, the penalties you face can be doubled. Alongside these penalties, your driving privileges and your driver’s license will be suspended for the time period of at least six months. If this is not your first offense, then you will face a jail sentence and fines that are much more severe. If this is your third DUI conviction, you will face a fine of 3000 dollars, 3 years in prison and the loss of your driving privileges for at least 18 months. However, if you were transporting a minor at the time of the offense, the fines and a prison sentence will be increased by one-third. If your offense includes serious injuries or even fatalities, the penalties will be much, much greater – in addition to any civil or criminal penalties. When it comes to the standards, commercial drivers and minors are held to much stricter standards in regard to driving under influence. In Maryland, those below 21 years of age are not allowed to consume or possess alcoholic beverages.
If you are facing DUI charges in Maryland, you should find a lawyer who might able to restore your driving privileges and alleviate the consequences of the charge. You can find a lawyer at www.avvo.com